The perfect South-Indian winter curry

I’m always looking for new recipes in order to spice up (literally) my diet and an easy one-pot dish is always hassle-free, easy and enjoyable to make! I found this when looking up videos of Karlie Kloss‘ catwalk (as you do) and stumbled upon this – a perfect vegan/vegetarian dish in which all the veg could be substituted to whatever veg you prefer. The more greens you put into the dish, the better it gets! I become a dangerous girl when I get my hands on cayenne pepper, however, this recipe was very spicy even for me, if you want to tone it down and make it medium-spicy then I’d recommend using half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, but if you want to just have a slight kick I’d recommend using less than a quarter of a teaspoon.

The recipe is really easy to follow and serves 4-5.

image_1

Recipe

  •  1 Onion
  •  2 Tbsp Canola Oil
  •  3 Tbsp Ginger
  •  3 Garlic Cloves
  •  1 Tbsp Ground Coriander
  •  1 Tsp Turmeric
  •  1 Tsp Cayenne Pepper (hell no, I really recommend half a tsp)
  •  1 Tbsp Cumin
  •  1 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  •  2 Cups Vegetable Stock
  •  1 Cup Coconut Milk (I used a reduced-fat version)
  •  1 Stick Cinnamon
  •  1 Pinch Salt
  •  1 Tbsp Pepper
  •  2 Tomatoes
  •  2 Carrots
  •  1/2 Head Cauliflower
  •  2/3 Butternut Squash (I used 1 big sweet potato, delicious!)
  •  1 Can Chickpeas
  •  4 Cups Spinach
  •  1/2 Lime Juice
  •  1 Pinch Coriander

image

You can certainly add some chicken or any other meat to it if you are a meat lover, but I really recommend trying out the original veggie version – I promise you will love it!

This is the video from which I found out the recipe – WELL DUNN with Jourdan Dunn


There is also a recipe for Karlie’s Kookies which I haven’t had the chance to bake myself yet, but if you have a sweet tooth like me and are looking for a healthier alternative to enjoy your treats then I’d recommend making them as well!

Happy healthy eating everyone!

Eva xoxo

3 thoughts on “The perfect South-Indian winter curry

Leave a Reply

