Ariana Grande – My Everything album

I really tried hating this album but it was just so catchy and fun that I couldn’t resist! I’ve been listening to this a lot this autumn so I thought I’d give a little song-by-song review, enjoy!

  1. Intro

    Ariana sounding very Mariah Carey-esque and showing off her vocal range whilst singing something I can barely understand, it sort of sounds like some wannabe Christmas carol in the end. Nothing special.

  2. Problem (featuring Iggy Azalea)

    This song was the shit when it first came out and I enjoyed sassily bopping my head along to it whenever it was on the radio – plus Iggy is my girl, but now I think that this song is shit.

  3. One Last Time

    One of the better songs on the album, whenever she sings lower notes it sounds so much nicer and less forced. It’s a good pop song, definitely something I’d listen to again.

  4. Why Try

    This song is okay but gets annoying after a while, once again nothing special but a good album filler. I actually like it a lot more towards the end!

  5. Break Free (featuring Zedd)

    I enjoy everything about this song except for the chorus… It makes my ears bleed. The parts where she’s calmly singing at the beginning and mid song are my favourite. Another song that’s been way too overplayed on the radio.

  6. Best Mistake (featuring Big Sean)

    She’s done many collaborations on this album, hasn’t she? A good song and a lot more moodier. I’m not the biggest fan of rappers in general though so it doesn’t really do that much for me, but I do think that she sounds a lot more grown-up and ‘sexy’ without forcing it.

  7. Be My Baby (featuring Cashmere Cat)

    It sounds way to much like her song ‘Baby I’ but it’s fun and another very ‘pop princess’ type of song. Even though she’s using her whistle tones in this I still enjoy it as it’s very lighthearted and fun.

  8. Break Your Heart Right Back (featuring Childish Gambino)

    Can’t decide whether this song or the next song is my favourite, but daaamn is this catchy! Like the rest of her songs on this album, it’s all very poppy and a bit similar sounding but I love how sassy it is. I think this is a perfect break-up song and I definitely listened to it again and again for a good couple of weeks!

  9. Love Me Harder (featuring The Weeknd)

    One of my favourite songs on the album, I definitely think this is such a good collab because their voices sound really good together! This song allows Ariana to sound a lot more grown up but in a chilled out way as opposed to trying too hard which she’s been criticised for doing. It’s a sexy and sensual song, so glad it’s the next single!

  10. Just A Little Bit Of Your Heart


  11. Hands On Me (featuring A$AP Ferg)

    Oh dear… This song may be catchy but it’s a big old mess! It would be good for getting ready on a night out with the girls who are up for getting wasted on tequila shots.

  12. My Everything  

    Once again it’s just a bit ‘meh’, with such an incredible voice and such a vast vocal range Grande could really make an amazing sad ballad but doesn’t achieve that on this album.

I’ll also do a quick review of the bonus tracks that are on her deluxe album:

  • Bang Bang (with Jessie J and Nicki Minaj) – absolutely crap, worst song ever.
  • Only 1 – catchy and easy going, not bad.
  • You Don’t Know Me – sassy, catchy, darker and best out of the bonus tracks.

Eva xo